Pinch: Chapter 9

Just as I was starting to feel like I’d lost my mind, Mrs. Crumpet, of all people, assured me that I had not.

“Willowtree?” I managed to stammer out while Mrs. Crumpet looked at me intently, watching her words have their expected effect on my face.

“Yes, dear. The very one. I know you’ve had a few strange encounters of late, and I think it’s time you learn why. And why you.” Mrs. Crumpet’s usually jovial face had become somber. I was suddenly strangely aware that I’d never heard her breathe a word about her husband before now.

“My sweet Arnold,” she continued wistfully, as if she’d read my mind. “Hannah, have you ever wondered about your family lineage? Or, rather, your lack thereof? Because, my dear, you do have family. Your mother is my baby sister.”

Ok, maybe I had lost my mind. Maybe I was completely batty and the old Crumpster and her ancient cat were figments of my fractured imagination. My mother absolutely does not have a sister; she is an only child, like me, as she often reminds me that “siblings are for peasants, dahhhling.”

My alleged aunt didn’t miss a beat. “Hannah, I’m your aunt. We have a brother as well: your uncle. I know your mother has kept this from you; she lives in her fantasy-world bubble, she always has. But given the fact that Felix has made contact with you, I can no longer allow your mother to keep you in that bubble.”

I had at least 500 questions, but couldn’t seem to form a single word. Blankly staring at her, I waited for further explanation.

“I’ve lived in this apartment for many, many years. Most of my life, actually. My brother and I have been doing our best to keep an eye on you for all these years. I’m sure you’ve seen your uncle at the library. He spends most of his waking hours there drinking coffee and waiting for you to come in and ask questions.”

I thought of the man who followed me out of the library just a bit ago heeding warnings about Felix Willowtree. Was he really my uncle?

For all I knew, Admiral Rumples the Ageless Wonder Cat was my uncle.

Leave a comment