Pinch: Chapter 2

Doorbell ringing. What?

“Hannah!  I know you’re in there!” 

Oh no, not Mrs. Crumpet.  Cordelia Crumpet, my well-meaning but perpetually interfering next-door neighbor was at the door, and there was no getting away from Cordelia Crumpet once she decided to zero in on you.  I burrowed out of my nest of blankets and shuffled to the door.

“Hi Mrs. Crumpet,” I said, opening the door and plastering on a smile.

“Hannah, I’m so sorry I know it’s your day off but I can’t find Admiral Rumples!”

Admiral Rumples is Mrs. Crumpet’s ancient orange tabby cat.  A bag of bones with a grating, scratchy voice, much like his owner, Admiral Rumples is Mrs. Crumpet’s only companion and quite beloved.  He also has a very nasty habit of pooping on my newspaper.

“I let him out last night before Dateline and he hasn’t been back!” she shrieked, wringing her hands.  “I’m worried sick!  What if he’s hurt?  What if he’s hungry?  He missed his din-din and his brekky!”

“Okay, okay,” I sighed, resigned to a day spent poking around in alleys and shrubbery.  “I’ll go look for him.  You stay here in case he shows up.  I’m sure he’s nearby.”

I slipped on my boots and coat, and with one last longing look at my couch, headed out into the cold, wet day.  Rain was coming down in a spray of fine mist, just enough to make it necessary to walk with your head down and shoulders hunched, so I’ll admit I wasn’t doing a great job of looking around for Admiral Rumples.  Mostly I was watching my boots squelch through the puddles on the sidewalk and cursing that damn cat.  It should have come as no surprise, then, when I rounded the corner and slammed into a solid male wall, sending both of us crashing to the ground.

One thought on “Pinch: Chapter 2

Leave a comment