Pinch: Chapter 7

Huffing and puffing out of the library like the frustrated creature I was, I hardly heard Cindy’s futile attempt to call after me. But it was impossible to not hear, “Miss! MISS! HEY!” barreling out of the library doors behind me. It was the patron I saw relaxing in front of the fireplace inside. There was nothing relaxed about this man now.

Breathless, he caught up to me. “Geez, you’re quick. I didn’t mean to eavesdrop but I couldn’t help hearing your conversation with Ms. Mayes in there. Why are you asking about a Willowtree?”

His tone elevated quickly from casual (and still breathless) to concerned and even a bit afraid. This kind-faced older man met my eye with a knowing, anxious look. It was a look I’d already seen two times today.  “Er, I just came by the name somewhere and wanted to know who it was. Felix Willowtree. Do you know him?” I replied cautiously.

He appeared to be momentarily stunned, as if reminded of something he’d long ago forgotten.

“My dear girl,” he said seriously and grasped my hand, “I advise you, I urge you to dispose of the button you found and anything else you may find with those initials. I will not tell you things you do not need to know, but please hear me when I say: do not pursue this. Kill your curiosity before it gets you into trouble.”

After a few more long seconds of enduring his meaningful look, the man turned around and walked briskly back into the library. I fought my urge to follow him, and instead headed home to figure out what to do next. My thoughts were interrupted only by a sharp crack of thunder.

What in the world was going on here?

Leave a comment